Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Get Happy by Mary Amato

ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley

Author: Mary Amato
Genre: Young Adult | Contemporary
Release Date: October 28th 2014
Publisher: EgmontUSA
Rating: ❤❤❤❤
Read: March 27, 2014

In this poignant, realistic, contemporary YA by a state master list star, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Gayle Forman, a young songwriter builds a substitute family with her friends in place of the broken family she grew up with.

A hip high school girl who loves music, writes songs, and is desperate for a ukelele, learns to her shock that her father did not abandon her years ago and has been trying to keep in touch. She begins to investigate him, only to discover that he has a new life with a new family, including the perfect stepdaughter, a girl who Minerva despises.

My Thoughts
This is a kind of books that will put a smile on your face...

First off, I was so excited to find out that the author of Guitar Notes was going to release another book. I seriously loved that book and am so glad to say that she didn't disappoint with this one either.

I loved that this book was lighthearted, yet emotional at the same time. This book was about a budding songwriter and ukelele lover, Minerva and her discovery of her father. It was a really nice story about friendship and family.

The characters were great with wonderful (& a little silly) personalities. Fin and Minerva were my favorite and I loved their sense of humor.

The plot itself wasn't the most amazing I have ever read, but the writing made it very interesting. I loved the flow and the fast pace that kept me engaged with the story.

Overall, this book was a fun and light read that suitable for people of all ages, but I think younger readers might enjoy it more.


Post a Comment